Any time you need to add assets to Moxion, you'll want to head to the Viewer and open up the Upload Panel. This is where new assets get added to Moxion. They can be uploaded to either a new Batch or one that you've set up ahead of time.
In addition to the assets themselves, you can also attach metadata sidecar files that we'll extract information from and apply to any files you're uploading or have already uploaded. As we dive into the upload panel itself, we'll also be going through through the upload process step by step!
If you're looking for something specific, here's a table to contents to get you there faster!
- Starting an upload
- Hide/Unhide Distro Method
- Adding or Removing Files
- Upload Options - Metadata and Notifications
- Pre-Upload Validation
Starting an Upload
Uploading on Moxion begins in the left side of the panel, where you'll choose a destination Batch for for your files. These are containers for files in Moxion; they can represent a shoot day, a specific cut of the project you're working on, or however else you want to keep things organized. You can upload to an existing Batch that you click and select, or a new one that you create.
Hide/Unhide Distro Method
You've also got the option to create a Hidden Batch, which prevents any notifications from being sent out when the assets have finished uploading and processing. It will also keeps the batch and everything in it invisible to anyone with the default Viewer permission level.
This is helpful if you want to double-check any of your work before notifying everyone else in the Folder that it's up for viewing. Once you're satisfied that everything looks right, you can Unhide the Batch and choose to send out notifications to everyone on the Folder, no one, or a select few.
Regardless of whom you choose to inform, all the Folder's participants will be able to see and view any assets within the newly available Batch.
Adding or Removing Files
The center part of the panel allows you to either drag and drop the files you want to upload, or to locate them by browsing through your computer and any connected hard drives. Once selected, the files will be shown under the Add Files column.
If you added one too many files, the wrong cut, or just need to make a change, you can remove anything from the upload list by clicking the gray x to the right of each filename.
Options - Metadata and Notifications
The right-hand column gives you the ability to establish the metadata source and workflow for a Folder's video and audio content. This can be extracted from ALEs, XMLs and/or WAVs as supplied by your onset DIT.
Moxion keys off filenames when applying metadata from sidecar files, so you'll want to make sure those match in both the assets you're uploading and wherever the metadata is being extracted from.
Any information you attach via this process will remain connected to the uploaded assets, even if you move or copy them elsewhere..
Checking the Overwrite Existing Metadata option will inject the metadata information into the corresponding display field on Moxion. If unchecked, the metadata injection routine will only populate the fields that don't have pre-existing information.
When you check Apply To This Batch Only, the metadata is only applied to the Batch you are currently uploading into. If unchecked, Moxion will go through and attempt to apply the ALE to all Batches within the Folder.
The option to send notifications about the new Upload to all Participants in the Folder is enabled by default. Toggling it off will allow you to choose individual members to notify or simply not notify anyone. You can also always notify them later by using the Hide/Unhide workflow or sending out a Playlink.
The notification toggle is sticky, and will stay off until switched on again!
If you'd like us to double-check your files before you take the time to upload them to Moxion, we have a quick process that can scan for common mistakes with Dolby Vision or DNxHD assets to save you from future headaches. You'll want to make sure an Admin in charge has toggled this setting on at either the Folder, Production or Company level.
Once that's enabled, clicking the upload button will perform the validation:
If nothing is wrong, we'll automatically start uploading everything you've added. If there is an issue, a notification window will appear and inform you of the problem:
Clicking through that will bring you back to the upload panel, where there's now an indicator next to the asset or asses that failed the validation step. The upload button will also have a warning icon that can be clicked to bring up the original diagnosis.
While you can continue to upload in that state, you will very likely end up with an asset that fails to process successfully. We recommend reviewing anything that fails the validation process and creating a new file that addresses the issue that was surfaced and then running it through the validation again.
We have breakdowns of issues in our HDR & Dolby Vision and Video Upload Specification articles.
Once you're satisfied that everything is ready to upload, click that blue button to start it up. You will see the following status display once you've got an active upload.
The Add More button will allow you to additional files for this upload. Cancel All will stop the upload altogether, and clicking any x next to any filename will remove it from the upload queue.
Note that you are not able to upload to more than one Batch or Folder at a time in the same browser instance.
We are also unable to perform validations on any new files added during an active upload. If you're unsure, it's best to wait and check the file separately!